Studying a subject you now don’t see a future in.

University of Leeds
3 min readOct 13, 2022

--

Being a third year student comes with its trials and tribulations. All I was asked over the summer leading up to my first year was “what’s next?”. It feels like a BIG question that needs a well-thought-out answer. Some of you might have an idea of what you would like to do after university. Some of you might not have a clue. And, if you are like me, some of you might only know what you DON’T want to do.

I have found that there seems to be a fair amount of stigma for venturing out into the world of work in an area that is very different from what you studied at university. For example, I study law. I love studying law and I don’t regret studying. Despite this, the more I studied it, the more I knew that becoming a lawyer wasn’t the path that I would like to take after graduation. Instead, after joining societies and trying different things, I found that I might enjoy going down the path towards journalism.

When I say “I don’t want to be a lawyer”, people ask me “why are you studying law?”. This is a valid question, but it did sometimes make me feel as if I had made the wrong choice, had wasted my time or that my degree wasn’t important. This is completely not true! University is not only about gaining a degree that sets you up for a future career, it is about figuring yourself out and finding out what you enjoy! Of course, your degree should be your focus, but university opens many doors and provides you with endless opportunities to build a future that you will be happy with. Perhaps you are moving away from home, becoming more independent, getting part-time jobs, meeting new people. These are all character building situations which can lead to you deciding that maybe what you are studying at university isn’t what you’d like to do in the future. Besides, every degree teaches you skills that will be beneficial in any career. Organisational skills, writing skills, communication skills and problem solving skills, for example, will apply to many, many situations in life, so never think that your degree is in any way unhelpful for your future.

Completing a degree is an accomplishment in itself and it is a stepping stone to building your future. So, don’t fret, and don’t feel pressured to venture into a job where your degree might appear useful. Any degree will be greatly useful in any working environment! Follow your heart and try new things! The world is your oyster and never limit yourselves!!

Written by Holly Phillips

--

--