Meet the University of Leeds Police Liaison Officer

University of Leeds
3 min readNov 2, 2021

--

Have you met PC Laura Beaton yet? You’ll probably have seen her walking around campus. Read on to find out more on what she does, and how she’s helping keep campus a safe place for us all.

A bit about me

My policing experience to date has been community focused; working collaboratively with partner agencies to provide a problem solving approach to any issues within a community. I have a passion for inciting positive change and establishing different ways to engaging with the variety of communities within Leeds.

PC Laura Beaton

I previously attended Leeds Metropolitan University (now Leeds Beckett University) where I studied for an undergraduate degree in Law with Criminology and gained experience in a number of roles before joining West Yorkshire Police. This includes a previous role at Loughborough University and international volunteer projects in both Nicaragua and Fiji. Due to my past studies, volunteering and paid roles I have both the knowledge and skill set that will be vital to undertaking this new role.

What my role is

To ensure students are safe and feel safe during their time studying in Leeds through innovative and collaborative ways of policing. The University is so vast in size, in terms of the campus and student/staff population, a full-time police presence is vital to ensure a secure and healthy study, work and living environment is maintained. I will be working closely with the onsite security team to prevent and detect crime on campus to ensure the University of Leeds continues to be a safe place for all.

PC Laura Beaton works with the onsite security team to ensure the University of Leeds continues to be a safe place for all.

How I keep students and staff safe on campus

I am based on campus at the University’s security office and I will be working closely with the onsite security team. I am here to offer help, guidance and support in any situation — to both students and staff alike. I offer an open door policy so anyone can come and see me and I will be happy to help where I can. You will also be able to find me at the students union on a weekly basis, so come and see me there.

My role will also include the investigation of crimes which have taken place on campus. As a liaison officer, working between both the University of Leeds and West Yorkshire Police, I may also approach students and staff about matters that have occurred off campus to assist colleagues.

PC Laura Beaton is liaison officer, working between both the University of Leeds and West Yorkshire Police

Ways to stay safe

Like most university cities, crimes do take place in student areas. However, there are simple things you can do to minimise the risk of becoming a victim of crime while studying or working in Leeds:

  • Lock your doors and windows (even when you are at home)
  • Keep all valuables out of sight, both at home and when you are out and about
  • Avoid walking in dark, badly lit areas alone, such as Woodhouse Moor

Please report anything you think is suspicious and report any crimes that you are victim to. To report things to the police, please ring 999 in an emergency and 101 for anything else.

You can also report incidents via the onsite security service on (0113) 343 2222 in an emergency and (0113) 343 5494 for anything else.

You will find me walking around the University campus or at the University Security Office. Send me an email, give me a call or come and find me at the Security Office. I am available 8am-4pm Monday — Friday for any help or guidance that you may require.

Please email me on l.beaton@leeds.ac.uk, call me on 07719417879 (8am — 4pm, Monday to Friday) or come and see me at the security office at 175 Woodhouse Lane, Leeds, LS2 9JT.

--

--